Photoshoot at William and Victoria’s, Harrogate

Last week I had the special privilege of working once again with the talented Nicky Chadwick (www.nickychadwickphotography.co.uk) at a promotional photo-shoot at William and Victoria’s restaurant (http://www.williamandvictoria.com) here in Harrogate.

Daisy catches a rare sunshine moment outside William & Victoria's

The photographs are for some brand new promotional material commissioned by William and Victoria’s.

Also involved in preparing the shoot was Alex Stead of Simply Bows & Chair Covers (www.simplybowsandchaircovers.co.uk) who demonstrated how quickly and easily (ok Alex makes it look easy!) a room can be transformed into whatever your theme for your big day or special occasion might happen to be.  With flowers supplied by Blush Flowers (http://www.blushbespokeflowers.co.uk) and a very tempting looked cake by  Mama Doreens (http://www.mamadoreenscupcakes.co.uk), the transformation was complete.

Alex at work dressing the venue. She makes it look easy, but it's jolly hard work. I found myself all fingers and thumbs when I offered to help.

I arrived to find one of our two models (Daisy and Clare) being made up by Zaira Cantara (http://www.zairacantara.com).

Zaira makes up Daisy

I took my wedding dress along as I don’t really have any pictures which do it justice (and wondered whether the tall slender youth of Daisy would make it look better than I did – the answer is yes she did!) and a short wedding dress which I’d designed and made for my catwalk collection last year.

Daisy models the beaded silk tulle and silk satin wedding dress

I’ve also been working on a selection of prom style bridesmaid dress, working on the theme of one colour, produced in several different shapes and styles, to suit the differing ages, body shapes and tastes which often occurs when one has several bridesmaids.  Clare modelled the first two dresses from the range.

Silk and lace dress
Electric blue gathered georgette dress with a flesh coloured lining

Finally Daisy modelled one of my signature backless dresses; a silk bias cut evening dress.

Backless bias-cut evening dress

It was a splendid day and I met some talented and dedicated individuals who are truly passionate about their work.

This was my first visit to William and Victoria’s restaurant since we (Significant Other and I) had our wedding reception there in December.  It certainly brought back some wonderful memories for me of a really special day (I can certainly recommend the venue!).

Daisy models satin and applique lace bodice with a gathered georgette skirt

I have to admire Clare and Daisy’s professionalism as we braved the chilly April breeze outside William and Victoria’s, shooting the exterior and also making use of the wonderful natural daylight (yes we managed a couple of hours sunshine in between the showers) to show off the fabric in its full glory.

Then an off the cuff remark from Nicky (that’ll teach you to moan about not having any photographer in action shots), saw me camera in hand, shooting Nicky, shooting Clare… it really was as fun as it sounds!

Nicky instructs Clare
Don't think I'll be giving up the day job anytime soon!
Leave a Reply

