Couture Apron

The Eliza Wyke studio prides itself on the depth and variety of it’s commissions.  Whilst bridal, evening and prom dresses are glamorous and exciting to create, other slightly ordinary or as is often the case, extraordinary, commissions are undertaken with an equal amount of enthusiasm.

A couple of weeks ago I received a rather interesting and exciting challenge.  It was whilst shooting with the very talented wedding photographer, Nicky Chadwick, that this commission came up.  Nicky was waxing lyrical about her new venture, but then went on to explain that she was struggling to find an apron which would fit her slender frame, but look equally smart and stylish.  She showed me a couple of sites online which had unisex aprons (ie large) but these didn’t have the pockets in the right place, or the straps weren’t adjustable to accommodate different outfits. In short they weren’t right.

She asked me (with my personal shopping hat on) whether I had any thoughts.  Then the designer in me had an idea:  how about creating an Eliza Wyke bespoke apron?

I’ll share with you that I’ve never actually made an apron before. Most girls attempt one at school, but we never did that.  So this was a doubly exciting challenge for me.

First I started where any designer should with a spec: measurements of Nicky, how long/short she required it, what sort of pockets would be needed, where to place the pockets for easy access and of course how large each pocket should be to accommodate it’s contents.

Next I thought about colour.  I selected fabrics which would  match Nicky’s brand colours as she’ll be wearing her apron for events and exhibitions.  I had so much fun shopping for brightly coloured cottons.

Three hours later and here are the results…

The breast pocket had to be large enough to accommodate Nicky's pens.  I sewed individual pouches within the pocket so the pens don't move.  I also included a pleat on each pocket to accommodate the bulky pens
The breast pocket had to be large enough to accommodate Nicky’s pens. I stitched individual pouches within the pocket so the pens won’t move. I also included a pleat on each pocket to accommodate the bulky pens

 

Nicky needs to be able to access her cards quickly and easily so what better way than having a dedicated car pocket on the right hip (although with hindsight I should have opted for the left hip so she can shake hands and whip out a business card at the same time - one for next time!)
Nicky needs to be able to access her business cards quickly and easily so what better way than having a dedicated card pocket on the right hip (although with hindsight I should have opted for the left hip so she can shake hands and whip out a business card at the same time – one for next time!)
Its always handy to have a larger pocket but often they're too high up.  Nicky knows she'll be sat down whilst wearing her apron, so the pocket for the pad had to be low down on the apron to allow her to sit.
Its always handy to have a larger pocket for pads and leaflets but often they’re too high up. Nicky knows she’ll be sat down whilst wearing her apron, so the pocket for the pad had to at the bottom of the apron to allow her to sit.
The pockets were specifically to allow Nicky to sit down with items in each pocket
Pocket placement allows for ease of movement whilst wearing and of course enough space to sit down without pads bending or pens jabbing!
Nicky wanted an adjustable strap.  I thought a button fastening would be a great way of adding extra detail, but also keeping the apron securely in place.  I love these red buttons
Nicky wanted an adjustable strap. I thought a button fastening would be a great way of adding extra detail, but also keeping the apron securely in place. I love these red buttons
I decided to line the apron with the red trim.  By adding pockets on the inside, and extra buttons on the strap, it could easily be a two-way apron
I decided to line the apron with the red trim. By adding pockets on the inside, and extra buttons on the reverse of the strap, it could easily be a two-way apron
Finally Nicky models the apron.
Finally, Nicky models the apron.
Leave a Reply

