Eliza Wyke… a new model business

I’m in the process of rebranding Eliza Wyke and my two other businesses into one, and consequently a one-stop shop for my services on the web.  I had the pleasure of being introduced to the wonderful Penny at Yorkshire Websites, and after much deliberation we decided the website needed to be all about me…and Penny decided, I needed to be photographed.

Yikes!

I’ve done countless photo-shoots, which are always fun, but never one where I’m the focus of the attention.  It is fair to say I very much prefer to be behind the camera, rather than in front.  It’s also fair to say the camera feels the same way about me!

I always take my hat off to the likes of Kate Moss (actually Mossy is my gal-crush) et al, who make the poses look so natural (when they’re clearly not), and the clothes look so tempting.

Last Saturday was P-day, when I was joined by the ever talented Nicky Chadwick, who attempted to “capture me” in the studio.

So what to wear?  As a “stylist” I wanted something classic, which says a lot about me.  How about one of my (many) own design tweed waistcoats?  I selected  a particular favourite Harris Tweed waistcoat which also has a matching jacket, and teamed with my “uniform” of white shirt and jeans.

Modelling my favourite Eliza waistcoat in Harris Tweed
Modelling my favourite Eliza waistcoat in Harris Tweed

Whilst I felt comfortable in my outfit selection, I still felt decidedly awkward, and posed.  I tried to look away from the camera but resembled Joey from Friends’ “smelling the fart” pose!  I tried to look at the camera but that just felt wrong.  It’s so difficult.   It does require a talent… one I clearly don’t have.

Trying to conjure a thoughtful expression...
Trying to conjure a thoughtful expression…
...and giggling instead!
…and giggling instead!

And the results… I’ll stick to the day job… and avoid the chocolates this Christmas.

Surrounded by Eliza Wyke and modeling an Eliza tweed jacket.
Surrounded by Eliza Wyke and modeling an Eliza tweed jacket.
After an hour or so in the studio Nicky and I hit the shops
After an hour or so in the studio Nicky and I hit the shops
Window shopping in another Eliza Wyke creation - this one is an ancient padded velvet and herringbone swing coat which works well with skinny jeans
Window shopping in another Eliza Wyke creation – this one is an ancient (made it years ago and still going strong) padded velvet and herringbone swing coat which works well with skinny jeans, it’s also big enough to layer underneath
Leave a Reply

