Breakfast interrupted by the BBC

There I was casually minding my own business, and stuffing a slice of toast into my mouth, when the phone started ringing.  Ok so I was having an unusually late breakfast, but nobody usually calls before 8am, except my Beloved Mother, so I didn’t even check the caller ID.

“Hello, this is the BBC” said the caller “we’ve been let down by our guest speaker this morning and wondered if you’d be able to comment on a story in the news that high street spending is on the increase.”

“Erm, possibly, when?”

“Now, stay on the line and I’ll patch you through live.”

Gulp – and that wasn’t the toast!

“I’m speaking to Eliza personal shopper here in Leeds, what was the last purchase you made?”

“The Breton top I’m wearing”.   I blurted out, unprepared for the question.  But in truth, dear reader, I inadvertently lied.  I didn’t lie about the top, yes I was wearing it, and yes it is a recent purchase, I like many of the woman in the survey have treated myself recently, albeit very modestly, but it’s not my most recent purchase which is…

 

My last purchase, a mercy purchase in Barcelona when my trusty Clark's sandals started to rub after two days non-stop sightseeing.
My last purchase, a mercy purchase in Barcelona when my trusty Clark’s sandals started to rub after two days non-stop sightseeing.
These aren't simply a one-wear purchase as they're far too comfortable.  Wore them last week for a personal shop in Leeds and had no end of positive comments... and a distinct lack of blisters/achy feet!
These aren’t simply a one-wear purchase as they’re far too comfortable. Wore them last week for a personal shop in Leeds and had no end of positive comments… and a distinct lack of blisters/achy feet!

So ladies, did you hit the high street this weekend, if so what did you buy?

Leave a Reply

