Mid-season wardrobe update

I guess having a mid-season clearout is something of a novelty.  I admit that most people wait until something momentous happens… they get a new job, lose some weight, return after maternity leave or just the weather changes and they need to revisit their wardrobe for purely practical purposes, but I prefer to keep on top of my wardrobe reviewing it at regular intervals throughout the season.

This week, with a little self-indulgent time on my hands, I thought I’d revisit my summer wardrobe and ensure that the hectic (August is shaping up to be a busy one) days ahead will take me effortlessly from summer sun to a cool autumn breeze.

I’d like to say that my wardrobe is a paragon of virtuous tidiness, and that each item is colour coordinated, packed economically for ultimate storage, and there is a Polaroid for every shoe.  Don’t worry, it’s not!

There isn’t that much to sort through, as a personal shopper I maximise my (often exceedingly small) budget and ensure each purchase is carefully assessed for its usefulness and, if necessary, longevity.  I do however, as a couturier, experiment with garment construction, so there are several “samples” lurking within.

My first task is to rid myself of things which just don’t feel right.  These are the items I know I’m not going to wear and if I’m being honest, if everything in my wardrobe caught fire except these items, I’d be asking the fireman if I could wear his overalls!  This dress is a prime example. I hate the colour and the pattern – the woman (encouraged by Significant Other?!) in the fabric shop persuaded me it looked good.

Classic Eliza shift in a not so classic patterned cotton.  God knows what I was thinking of when I bought that!
Classic Eliza shift in a not so classic patterned cotton. God knows what I was thinking of when I bought that!
Sometimes a garment is a season - this t-shirt purchased last year in Spittlefields market is a prime example - worn to death in 2012, seems all wrong for 2014
Sometimes a garment is a season – this t-shirt purchased last year in Spittlefields market is a prime example – worn to death in 2012, seems all wrong for 2014

Next I’m eliminating black tops. I’ve always felt good in black but recently noticed it’s starting to make me look haggard, and if I look haggard, I feel haggard, so black tops must go.

Black just isn't working for me - is it an age thing or a state of mind?  Whatever it is, I'm not wearing it for the moment
Black just isn’t working for me – is it an age thing or a state of mind? Whatever it is, I’m not wearing it for the moment

Finally if it’s too big, ie linen trousers which can fit nicely over a pair of skinny jeans, then it too must go.  Admittedly I’ve upped my exercise regime this summer, but if I’m honest these trousers (which were made for a photo-shoot demonstration of my tailoring skills) have always been “slouchy” and are now simply too big.

There are lose fitting, slouchy pants, and then there are way too big trousers.  These linen trousers fit nicely over my jeans..!
There are lose fitting, slouchy pants, and then there are way too big trousers. These linen trousers fit nicely over my jeans..!

Remember:

  • If it doesn’t make you feel good let it go, it gives you a pay-day excuse, as if you need one, to replace with something great
  • If it doesn’t fit, don’t keep it – if it’s too big, be optimistic you’ll never be that size again, if it’s too tight be honest with yourself about fitting into again
  • Visibility is key – use slim-line hangers to maximise your space and ensure everything is visible
An orderly wardrobe - suits at one end, tops and dresses in the middle, eveningwear at the other - I like to work from the inside out so the popular items are in the middle
An orderly wardrobe – suits at one end, tops and dresses in the middle, eveningwear at the other – I like to work from the inside out so the popular items are in the middle

 

 

Leave a Reply

