Booting out the old to shoe in the new

There comes a time in a girl’s life when she needs to say a fond farewell to the past.  In my case it’s a fond farewell to huge parts of my beloved shoe collection.

This time last year I was crippled with back pain having an inflamed sacroiliac joint which, I hate to inform you, is as painful as it sounds. Four months of careful movement, no lifting, low heels, a little physio (also eye-wateringly painful) and some individual Pilates sessions and I was eventually back on track. Unfortunately the casualty in all this was my beloved heels, the wearing of which has become something of a traumatic experience I’m inclined to experience less and less.

Consequently the past couple of months have seen a radical re-haul of my personal shoe emporium. And, dear reader, I hate to admit but I may have hoarded. Platforms from 9 years (I know!) ago, gone. Mules from, I’m ashamed to admit, over 10 years ago, gone.

This devil loved her Prada.  Worn with an extra long boot cut (a giveaway as to how old they are), these shoes have spent many  an hour stomping around the shops.
This devil loved her Prada. Worn with an extra long boot cut (a giveaway as to how old they are), these shoes have spent many an hour stomping around the shops.
These babies were purchased halfway around the world and, in the days when luggage weight wasn't a problem, came home in the box!!  Despite looking brand new, they've been a good friend over the years
These babies were purchased halfway around the world and, in the days when luggage weight wasn’t a problem, came home in the box!! Despite looking brand new, they’ve been a good friend over the years
The thick heel and slight platform made these extremely wearable during my working-in-Leeds-years.  Worn with an M&S t-shirt, liberty print skirt I'd run up myself, these were a good 15 times more expensive than the rest of the outfit!
The thick heel and slight platform made these extremely wearable during my working-in-Leeds-years. Worn with an M&S t-shirt, liberty print skirt I’d run up myself, these were a good 15 times more expensive than the rest of the outfit!

Like any good shoe hoarder, each shoe has a backstory and a rationale.  Most of which were sale purchases (the advantage of being a UK size 3!) and whilst still rather expensive, nowhere near as pricey as similar designer styles are today.

These heeled shoe boots were a wardrobe staple for a couple of years
These heeled shoe boots were a wardrobe staple for a couple of years
These are still worn occasionally...
These are still worn occasionally…
Another treasured pair which work I'm loathe to part with
Another treasured pair which work I’m loathe to part with

Most were well worn, some a little frivolous…

I feel in love with these pretty leather flower mules from Mui Mui over 10 years ago.
I feel in love with these pretty leather flower mules from Mui Mui over 10 years ago.
Dawn of a new era:  the low heel years.  These rather splendid brogues have, since their purchase, walk around 200 miles
Dawn of a new era: the low heel years. These rather splendid brogues have, since their purchase, walked around 200 miles
Funky and flat, these biker boots are made for walking!
Funky and flat, these biker boots are made for walking!
Latest addition to the shoe collection, these tan boots from Father Christmas were an inspired gift and despite the heel are remarkably comfortable.
Latest addition to the shoe collection, these tan boots from Father Christmas were an inspired gift and despite the heel are remarkably comfortable.

I will miss the elegant height of the 5 inch Gucci’s, having elbow fought not one but two women (!) on the first day sales in Selfridges 15 years ago, and the leg lengthening properties of any heel (and believe me, my short and stumpy legs need all the help they can get).  I am enjoying the freedom of lace up brogues, the comfort of stomping around in biker boots, and the low heel tan boots don’t make my legs look half bad!

Leave a Reply

